Mudhoney at Maxwell's (03-11-1989)


On March 11, 1989, Mudhoney topped a bill that featured their Sub Pop label mates, Soundgarden. Though Mudhoney had released a string of singles and an EP, as of the date of this gig, they had yet to release their debut self-titled studio album, which was released in November 1986.  In December 1988, the group released a highly anticipated split single with Sonic Youth. Prior to the release of Mudhoney's "Touch Me I'm Sick" single in March 1988, Bruce Pavitt sent a five-song Mudhoney tape to Sonic Youth for the band's opinion. Sonic Youth immediately proposed a split single where each band covered the other. Sonic Youth covered "Touch Me I'm Sick", while Mudhoney covered Sonic Youth's "Halloween". 


Set list:

  1. Magnolia Caboose Babyshit
  2. No One Has
  3. By Her Own Hand
  4. Touch Me I'm Sick
  5. You Got It
  6. If I Think
  7. Mudride
  8. Here Comes Sickness
  9. Burn It Clean
  10. This Gift
  11. Chain That Door
  12. Need
  13. Hate the Police (The Dicks Cover)
  14. In 'N' Out of Grace