Sonic Youth at CBGB's (06-23-1988 and 06-24-1988)


Sonic Youth played back to back nights at CBGB's on June 23, 1988 and June 24, 1988! The band exclusively played songs from Daydream Nation at these gigs with some fun twists, including alternate lyrics and different styles.  Similar to the Maxwell's shows from June 8th and 9th of 1988, the band was still in the process of working out the songs that would appear on Daydream Nation. For instance, Thurston Moore sang "Cross The Breeze" on night one. Night two also features a very different sounding version of "Rain King." Sonic Youth entered the studio to record Daydream Nation in July 1988 and the album was officially released in October of that year.


June 23rd Set List:

  1. Candle
  2. Kissability
  3. Hey Joni
  4. Teenage Riot
  5. Cross the Breeze
  6. Rain King
  7. The Wonder
  8. Hyperstation
  9. Eliminator Jr
  10. Silver Rocket 

June 24th Set List:

  1. The Wonder
  2. Hyperstation
  3. Rain King
  4. Teen Age Riot
  5. 'Cross the Breeze
  6. Hey Joni
  7. Candle
  8. Kissability
  9. Eliminator Jr.
  10. Silver Rocket